Contact: Ban Sakae Mu 3 Tambon Bang Sadetj, Amphoe Pa Mok, Ang Thong Tel. 0 3566 1169,0 3566 1273 or Wat Sa Kaeo School at Tel. 0 3566 1950-1
WatSaKaeo was constructed in 1699, and was originally named Wat Sakae. Nowadays, the temple grounds contain an orphanage, whose theater group, the WatSaKaeow Orphanage Likay Troupe, has earned nation-wide fame. The group was founded as a way for the youths to earn income during their stay at the center.
Within the temple is also SamakkhisamakhanBuilding, which is a center for textile-weaving initiated by Her Majesty the Queen in 1981. It is now under the supervision of the Ministry of Industry, and manyhigh-quality woven clothes such as sarongs are sold here. The Amphoe Pa Mok Cultural Center can also be found in front of the temple, where visitors can observe the production of silverware, court dolls and fabrics. Local housewives also sell their small farm produce here.
The temple is located in Ban Sakae Mu 3 Tambon Bang Sadet, Amphoe Pa Mok, approximately 200 meters away from WatThaSutthawat along the irrigation canal road. From Ayutthaya, take the Ayutthaya - Ang Thong route (Highway No. 309) to Km 39-40. The entrance to the temple is on the left.
The attractions are open daily from 8.00 am-4.00 pm. For more information, please contact WatSaKaeo at 0 3566 1169 or 0 3566 1273. Alternatively, callWatSaKaeo School at 0 3566 1950-1 or e-mail Wat_Sakaew@hotmail.com.